Tags

, , , , , ,

This morning, just as I was about to walk out of the house, this text popped up.

textFor those of you who know S, you know this is NOT a common occurrence. She is one of the most responsible kids I know; mature way beyond her almost 13 years.

But every once in awhile she has a moment where she forgets things, just like the rest of us.

It would have been easy to ignore the text (my phone is usually in my purse in the mornings) or to tell a little white lie and say I was already on my way to school (taking the flute to her would make me a few minutes late). I could have also tried a little tough love; “You forgot it; take the consequences for your actions.”

But I thought about what was the lesson I really wanted her to learn and the decision was easy. Here’s the rest of our text conversation.

text reply

I am a firm believer in holding my kids responsible for their actions, but I am also keenly aware that they are human.

It’s not something that happens often. She acknowledged that it was her mistake. She would’ve understood if I hadn’t been able to bring it in, but I could. I can’t/won’t fix everything for her, but sometimes we all need a little slack.

She was waiting for me when I got to the middle school, and her smile matched the ‘Thank you!’ that bubbled out.

She knew it was out of my way.

She knew I didn’t have to bring it.

She knew I understood about forgetting.

In the moment, I ‘rescued’ her, but I’m okay with that because in the big picture I showed her that it’s okay to make mistakes and ask for help.