Tags

, , , , ,

If I Were In Charge of the World (apologies to Judith Viorst for hijacking her format)

If I were in charge of the world
I’d cancel No Child Left Behind,
Race to the Top,
High-stakes testing, and also Common Core Standards.

If I were in charge of the world
There’d be equitable school funding,
Healthier lunches, and
Adequate resources for all schools.

If I were in charge of the world
You wouldn’t have homeless.
You wouldn’t have poverty.
You wouldn’t have hunger.
Or “You didn’t make AYP  .”
You wouldn’t even have AYP.

If I were in charge of the world
Education decisions would be made by educators,
All schools would have local control,
And a teacher who wasn’t afraid to speak out,
And sometimes wanted to shout,
Would still be allowed to be
In charge of the world.

