Tags

, ,

I’ve been making a mental list all week of what I’m thankful for, and while I know it’s not complete, I thought I’d share.

I’m thankful for my husband who doesn’t always agree with me but always listens. He supports me when I want to try something different like becoming an NBCT (National Board Certified Teacher) or beginning a doctoral studies program.

I’m thankful for my children who are happy and healthy and make me smile every day. They both have good hearts and kind spirits.

I’m thankful for our dog, a Border Collie/Australian Shepherd mix who thinks he’s a lap dog. Even on a bad day, that wagging tale and excited bark can make me smile.

I’m thankful for my health and health insurance. I know not to take them for granted.

I’m thankful to live in a country where I am able to speak my mind and oppose things I don’t agree with.

I’m thankful for my friends who are there in good and bad times, no matter where they live.

I’m thankful for the many teachers I had as a student and those I have worked with. I learned so much from all of them.

I’m thankful for technology which allows me to keep in touch with family and friends around the country, reconnect with former students, and develop an amazing PLN of educators who share my passion for learning.

I’m thankful for a career that I love and the students I teach. I can’t think of anything else I would want to do with my life.

I’m thankful to work in a district in which administrators and teachers are on the same team; a place where the conversations are about best practices and ways to improve. We aren’t perfect, but I believe we are constantly focused on doing what is best for our kids.

I am truly blessed.

