Tags

For the last few weeks, my fifth grade gifted students have been exploring what it means to be gifted. They have filled out multiple surveys to find out about themselves as individuals as well as learners. It’s been interesting to hear them comment on the results from the Myers-Briggs, True Colours, and Gardner’s Multiple Intelligences. I’ve heard everything from, “Hey, that sounds just like me!” to “Do I really do that?” My goal is to have them use this information to advocate for themselves in the classroom.

Along with the surveys, I’ve had them look for quotes about being gifted. Each student then chose one quote that would serve as a personal motto. I loved that many of them chose quotes about perseverance, working through failure, and believing in themselves.

Next week I’m going to ask each one to share the quote with the class and explain its significance. I want them to be honest with each other, and I’m hoping it will build a greater sense of community. I believe that I need to lead by example, so I’ll share the quote that I see as my motto: “The jump is so frightening between where I am and where I want to be…because of all I may become I will close my eyes and leap.” ~ Mary Anne Radmacher

